New ACR Recommendations on Rheumatoid Arthritis Assessment: Why and How


Measuring rheumatoid arthritis symptoms is the focus of new American College of Rheumatology guidelines. An ACR panel member tells how they help assess RA.

(AUDIO) The American College of Rheumatology has issued new recommendations for measuring symptoms and outcomes in rheumatoid arthritis. The six endorsed measures are: The Clinical Disease Activity Index, the Disease Activity Score with 28-joint counts (erythrocyte sedimentation rate or C-reactive protein), the Patient Activity Scale (PAS), PAS-II, the Routine Assessment of Patient Index Data with 3 measures, and the Simplified Disease Activity Index.

Listen as Dr. Salahuddin Kazi, a lead researcher with the guidelines committee, tells why the committee chose these six sets of assessment measures, and how they will help you in managing the condition. Dr. Kazi is Chief Informatics officer and associate professor of medicine in the division of rheumatology at the VA North Texas Healthcare System in Dallas.

The questions:

♦  What mandated guidelines for new measurement standards in RA?
♦  Why six sets of measures? Why not one or two?
♦  How much time will this add to a patient visit? What will be the impact on practice efficiency?
♦  Where can doctors find the recommended measures for rheumatoid arthritis assessment?
♦  What are the remaining areas of uncertainty?


ACR's New Recommendations on Rheumatoid Arthritis Assessment: Why and How



Standard RA Disease Activity Measures Endorsed by ACRMusculoskeletal Network, April 2, 2012

Rheumatoid Arthritis Disease Activity Measures: American College of Rheumatology Recommendations for Use in Clinical PracticeAmerican College of Rheumatology website

Measure CalculatorsAmerican College of Rheumatology website

Related Videos
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.