ONS Announces New Board at the 35th Annual Congress


The Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) has announced its 2010-2011 Board of Directors.

Other newly elected officers include Julie Eggert, RN, PhD, GNP-C, AOCN, who has assumed the role of secretary; Margaret Barton-Burke, PhD, RN, and Mary Pat Johnston, RN, MS, AOCN, who are directors-at-large; and Emma Dann, RN, MS, OCN, NE-BC, who has become a board member.

Several other members will be continuing on the Board, including Laura Fennimore, RN, MSN, who will continue on as treasurer, and Susan Schneider, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN, Virginia Martin, RN, MSN, AOCN, and Michele Gaguski, MSN, RN, AOCN, CHPN, APN-C, who will continue to serve as directors-at-large.

In a press statement, Brown said “This Board of Directors represents an excellent mix of oncology nurses with a diverse background in clinical practice settings, research, and academia.” He went on to say, “Our imminent challenge will be to help prepare and position our profession for the new changes associated with healthcare reform.”

The Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) has announced its 2010-2011 Board of Directors. The organization’s new president is Carlton Brown, PhD, RN, AOCN, who is an assistant professor at the University of Delaware School of Nursing, Newark, Delaware. Dr Brown has been an ONS member for more than 17 years and assumed the presidency following a 1-year term as president-elect. This selection provides further evidence that the face of nursing is truly starting to change.

Related Videos
Ghada Bourjeily, MD: Research Gaps on Sleep Issues During Pregnancy
John Winkelman, MD, PhD: When to Use Low-Dose Opioids for Restless Legs Syndrome
Bhanu Prakash Kolla, MBBS, MD: Treating Sleep with Psychiatric Illness
How Will Upadacitinib, Povorcitinib Benefit Hidradenitis Suppurativa?
Jennifer Martin, PhD: Boosting CPAP Adherence in Women with Sleep Apnea
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.